ranch dressing

. . .

Here at the Cat Farm, we like to eat. Mostly, we like to eat food that can kill you. But every once and while, we try to be adults. We eat vegetables. And sure, we slather those veggies in dressing, but it could be worse – we could be doing cocaine.

This dressing was a lovely find. We had it over a lettuce-free salad, which is just a bunch of our favourite veggies chopped into bite-sized pieces. When I made the dressing, I didn’t have a food processor, so I used a hand blender – it worked just fine. Of course, that won’t be a problem anymore, as The Beaucoups just gave me a real, live food processor for my birthday!  And, 2.0 gave me a Le Creuset French oven – in kiwi! It’s one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen.

Man, I’m livin’ the life.

Anyhoo, I hope you’ll like this dressing. The thing about making your own vegetable disguiser is that you know that there aren’t any weird additives or chemicals in there. Just good, old fashioned fat and yumminess.

I’m on the hunt for some new and exciting dressings. If you’ve got any ideas, lemme know!

. . .

Ranch Dressing – adapted, barely, from The Galley Gourmet – download and print

(makes about 1 cup)

  • 1/3 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup sour cream, full fat or light
  • 2 tablespoons chopped green onions, 1-2 onions depending on the size
  • 2 tablespoons chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 small garlic clove, smashed and peeled
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

In the basin of a food processor, combine the green onions, garlic, and parsley. Process until finely chopped. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and process again. Add the remaining ingredients and pulse just until combined.  If you don’t have a food processor, you can make this dressing in a deep bowl with a hand blender – I did! Dressing will keep in an airtight container for up to 5 days. Serve the dressing over salad or use as a dip for veggies.

.

8 thoughts on “ranch dressing

  1. This looks delish! We’re having salad (from our polytunnel, yay!) with asparagus tart (not from our polytunnel) later so I’m going to try it. Don’t have sour cream or buttermilk to hand so I’m going to substitute creme fraiche.

  2. That looks awesome! I can’t wait to try it! And…Happy belated birthday! Hope it was a great day! Sounds like you got some really good presents!
    Love, Michele

  3. Happy birthday! I must admit that I’m a wee bit jealous of your Le Creuset gift! I just came to your blog through infomonkey – nice to ‘meet’ you. And I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog!

    • Oh dear. I’ve just checked out your blog. You’re basically amazing, and I’m hooked. Your photos are making me sick! (I mean that in the nicest of ways.) Let’s stalk each other. It will be uber fun!

leave a comment - it makes movita all happy like