a sort of guest post

Yesterday, I received an email with the subject line: a borrowed cup of sugar and sweet baking victory‏. I get pretty stoked when any of you people take the time to email me – especially if it’s not hate mail – so I settled down with my morning coffee to read Eliza’s epic tale of baking. Also, I have highlighted the line that made me snort coffee out of my nose.

. . .

First, let me just say “Movita, you are FABULOUS!!!”.

I am in love with your blog. Not because I love to bake (I have baked only one thing in the last year…. more on that shortly), but because you are so damn entertaining. I laughed my ass off reading your moth post, among many other great stories.

So more on that one baked good… I decided to give Amy’s cherry crisp a whirl.

I might have been advantaged to gather all of the ingredients properly first. I mean, that shouldn’t have been so hard, it was a short list.

Yet somehow I ended up borrowing a few last minute items from a neighbor –> my very first time borrowing a cup of sugar! Sadly, she did not have the required flour, but together we deduced a plan to substitute pancake mix. (Don’t get scared, read on).

To make it even more complicated, I thought to myself, self, wouldn’t this taste even better with a graham cracker crust? Why certainly! So I went out and got a box of graham cracker crumbs, followed the instructions on the back, and whipped out a graham cracker bottom for my 8 x 8 pan.

Feeling pretty impressed with myself, I let that cool while I put together the topping. Then, shit! I didn’t have enough oats. Time to throw in another substitution (having the graham cracker crumbs on hand proved quite fruitful) and hope for the best.

I artfully used my elbow to unlock my iPhone and double check how to apply the topping. Sprinkle the topping… WTF?! How could I sprinkle something glued together with salted butter?

I got to thinking maybe this was my fault. I didn’t adhere to Movita’s instructions! So, I made a crust-like top out of my new concoction pressing it on top of the cherry filling and deciding that was my best effort, threw it in the oven. At this point, I was really hoping this was not for naught.

I very carefully watched it in there until the top browned and the cherries looked bubbly, just like you said. I had to get back on the game plan!

Then came the taste test. Wowie, I loved it, my boyfriend loved it (and was shocked I had produced it), and it was decided I would write and tell you about my great baking victory, even if Amy’s cherry crisp turned into Eliza’s cherry graham crumble.

Keep the stories coming!

e.

. . .

First off, when you people send me emails like this, it makes my freakin’ day. Second… uh, did you notice that Eliza went out to get graham crumbs, but didn’t bother to get the other ingredients she needed? Like flour? And oats? I mean, it sounds like she went to the store after visiting her neighbour, doesn’t it?

And also: who the hell substitutes pancake mix for flour? Eliza, that’s who. Eliza and her neighbour.

When I emailed Eliza to ask if I could share her story with you, SHE SENT ME THE RECIPE AND PHOTOS FOR HER NEW CREATION. That was the second time I snorted something out of my nose yesterday. So, I’ve put her photos and instructions below. You can download the recipe just like any other recipe on this here site.

In Eliza’s honour, I have also changed the word “sprinkle” in the topping instructions for Amy’s Cherry Crisp to: sprinkle/spread the topping evenly over the surface of the filling, pressing down gently if required. I think that’s better. So does Eliza. (I asked her.) I always appreciate it when someone helps me make a recipe more clear. I will not, however, be recommending that y’all use pancake mix as a substitute for flour in my recipes. Or… any recipe.

There’s a lesson here, people: have fun in the kitchen. Do you remember what that was like? Because sometimes I forget. I spend a lot of time worrying that something won’t turn out, or that I’ll ruin someone’s birthday cake. That one of you will try a recipe I’ve posted here, it will flop, and you will get angry. I type my recipes, proof read them a million times, and still worry that I have made a mistake. And I do make mistakes – because I’m not a robot, and I’m not a professional. I worry that I’ll ruin the fun for you – and that’s a lot of pressure, people. And then I forget about having fun myself. And this here blog? IT’S FOR FUN! (Insert wooting here!) So, I’m super glad that Eliza sent me a little reminder.

Thanks to all of you who constantly amaze me with your friendship, comments, emails and stories. I am very grateful indeed!

And Eliza? Keep rockin’ the kitchen, sista.

. . .

eliza's cherry graham crisp | movita beaucoup

Eliza’s Cherry Graham Crumble – a recipe by movita superfan, Eliza – click here to print and bake eliza’s super-awesome creation

– Make graham cracker bottom using recipe on the back of the box (see pic).
– Make filling while crust is cooling.
– Fill pan with 1 can of cherry pie filing. Recipe called for 19 oz
can. Found 22 oz in the grocery store and rolled with it.
– 1/4 cup oats + 1/4 cup graham cracker crumbs (ran out of oats)
– 1/4 cup wheat pancake mix (it IS mostly flour anyways)
– 1/4 cup brown sugar
– 1/4 cup white sugar
– 1/4 cup salted butter
– Spread topping over cherries. You can press down gently. This does not affect the tastiness of the outcome.
– Bake per Movita’s instructions
– Tastes fantastic on day 2 chilled.

eliza's cherry graham crisp | movita beaucoup

18 thoughts on “a sort of guest post

  1. Yeah, I’m not sure what to add to this. Except… movita: don’t worry about your recipe or instructions. These things have been proven optional when recreating a dish.

    • True dat. And I must say, whenever someone has pointed out a typo/error on my blog, they’ve been waaaaay nice about it. I’ve never had anyone be mean about it. I feel so lucky for that. I’ve read some comments on Smitten Kitchen and other major food blogs that would make your hair curl! It’s food for cripes sake!

  2. Whenever I’m feeling down, I’m going to imagine what Eliza is going to come up with for Bake My Cake 2013. I mean, it’s going to be rad, right? She’ll be all “soooo this was going to be a yellow cake but I didn’t have confectioner’s sugar for the icing, so I put jello on top because IT’S BASICALLY THE SAME THING, AM I RIGHT?!” And then she’ll go head-to-head with, like, a 9-year-old genius kid for the Bake My Cake title. It’s going to be epic.

  3. What a fun post! It’s always gratifying to hear that someone has not only read your blog, but actually tried one of your recipes (or used it as the starting point to create their own). So now Movita, you have a new title to add to the list of dance teacher, blogger and future baking school student: Muse Extraordinaire!

  4. LOVED this story with my morning coffee here in Oregon!!!
    In fact, I love all your posts, kinda like reading the daily paper—-
    Can you tell that YOU are our very own Julia Child???
    = mwah =

    cuppa love,
    Teri ————-x

  5. love a girl who doesn’t cry “uncle” but uses her noggin and her free flying fun spirit and makes delicious happen! bravo Eliza and Num to your cherry crumble!!

  6. I would totally have gone to the store and bought graham cracker crumbs, some cheese, some toothpaste that I didn’t even need, plus some of those blueberries that were on sale. Eliza’s choices make complete sense to me because clearly, she had already deduced she had plenty of pancake mix and if you have any oats at all, you pretty much can usually assume you have at least 1/2 c. of oats, for sure. That was just sheer bad leftover oat luck. Go Eliza!

    • Sharon, kindred grocery shopping spirit, this is EXACTLY how this went down! Thanks to everyone who has posted. The comments have been so wonderful to read. I seriously laughed the whole day through yesterday, much to the amusement of my co-workers, and I am now plotting my next baking move…. hold on to your seats people, this could be one wild ride!

  7. That’s looking totally delish and very planned… who would have thunk? I think compulsive bakers take for granted the idea of making a shopping list and preparing. It’s not a given…obviously. But all the better results for it here- and way to reach out!!

leave a comment - it makes movita all happy like